Home | Departments | Employees | Parents | Schools | Students
Donna Ronio Donna Ronio
President
Area 1

Helena John Helena John
Vice President
Area 2

Eric Sharum Eric Sharum
Area 3
Lori Bridges Lori Bridges
Area 4
Kent JesterKent Jester
Area 5
Kent JesterCol. Glen Waters
Ft. Sill Rep
Click to watch board meeting videos
Board of Education

Control of the policies, employees and schools in the Lawton Public Schools rests with the Lawton Board of Education. Its five voting members are elected by school patrons and the board's control of the district is subject only to limitations imposed by law and the will of voters.

Each board member serves a five-year term, with one board position up for election annually. In addition, Fort Sill is represented on the board through a non-voting member appointed by the post's commanding general.

The public is welcome at all meetings of the board. Meetings follow the guidance of the Oklahoma Open Meetings Law, which allows the board to hold executive sessions to discuss personnel or legal matters. Executive sessions are closed to the public and to school personnel; however, any discussion must be confined to these areas and any action resulting from the discussion must be taken when the board reconvenes in open session in a public vote. To email board members, click on their name above or in their bio.

Meeting dates for each calendar year are determined during the preceding December and are filed with the county clerk's office at the Comanche County Courthouse in Lawton. Agendas for each meeting are posted in the foyer of the John Shoemaker Education Center, 753 Fort Sill Boulevard, at least 48 hours prior to the meeting.

Regularly scheduled meetings of the Lawton Board of Education are typically held on the first Monday and third Thursday of each month, at 5 p.m. in the Shoemaker Auditorium. Shoemaker is located at 753 Fort Sill Boulevard, Lawton, Oklahoma 73502. These meetings are also televised live over Fidelity Communications Channel 2. The Board meeting will be shown again the next day on Fidelity Communications Channel 8 at 9am.

The board president and superintendent prepare each meeting's agenda, which follows an established format. Items may be placed on the agenda to provide information or for possible board action. If the item requires formal action, legally, the board can only act on it if it has been included on that meeting's agenda.

Code of Ethics

Board Meeting Archives
2014 Scheduled Meetings

  • Thursday, Jan. 16
  • Thursday, Feb. 6
  • Thursday, Feb. 20
  • Monday, Mar. 10*
  • Monday, Apr. 7
  • Monday, Apr. 14*
  • Thursday, Apr. 17
  • Tuesday, Apr. 22*
  • Monday, May 5
  • Tuesday, May 20*
  • Monday, June 2
  • Thursday, June 26*
  • Thursday, July 17
  • Monday, Aug. 4
  • Thursday, Aug. 21
  • Tuesday, Sep. 2*
  • Thursday, Sep. 18
  • Monday, Oct. 13*
  • Monday, Nov. 3
  • Thursday, Nov. 20
  • Monday, Dec. 15*

*Indicates departure from the standard first Monday, third Thursday monthly meeting dates. (This schedule is subject change.)